Swiss Federal Tax Administration FTA

This version is for browsers with a low level of support for CSS, and is des

Home Language Selection



Home Content Area

Home Navigator

End Navigator



Exportation in tourist traffic for shop sales ("tax-free for tourists")

The following explanations are based on the Ordinance of the FDF of 24 March 2011 on the Tax Exemption of Domestic Supplies of Goods for the Purpose of Exportation in Tourist Traffic (SR 641.202.2; Exportation in Tourist Traffic Ordinance). Unless otherwise indicated, the article references concern this ordinance.

Principle

Sales in tourist traffic to persons domiciled abroad are deemed to be domestic supplies and are therefore taxable.

Conditions for tax exemption

Sales in tourist traffic are exempt from tax only if all of the following conditions are met:

  • The retail price of the goods must be at least CHF 300 (incl. VAT). However, the retail price excluding VAT has to be indicated in the export document.
  • The buyer (= customer) may not be domiciled in Switzerland (Art. 3 letter a of the VAT Act). In contrast, it is irrelevant whether the buyer is a Swiss or foreign national.
  • The goods must be intended for the personal use of the buyer or as gifts.
  • The goods must be exported to a foreign customs territory by the buyer within 30 days of receipt.
  • Proof of exportation can be provided either with a confirmed export document (Arts. 3-5) or with an unconfirmed export document together with an import assessment issued by a foreign customs authority (Art. 6).
  • The export document must be drawn up in the name of the buyer and may contain solely goods supplied to this person. Joint declarations with goods for various buyers are not permitted.

If one or more of the above conditions are not met, the supplier must tax the goods supplied.

Forms

Form no. 11.49 and form no. 11.49 [A] remain valid, but they are no longer printed. In their place, the FTA has drafted a sample export document, which can be downloaded from its website.

Type: PDF

Most recent changes: 01.05.2011

Self-drafted export documents

Suppliers (= sellers) can also draft their own export documents. These must contain the following points:

  1. Title "Export document in tourist traffic"
  2. Name and location of the supplier (seller) as used for business purposes, as well as the supplier's VAT number (new UID format or former 6-digit format)
  3. Name and address of the buyer (customer)
  4. Number of the buyer's official identity document, and type of document in question
  5. Date of delivery of the goods
  6. Precise description of the goods and selling price (excluding VAT)
  7. Field for the signatures of the supplier and buyer
  8. Comment regarding the accuracy of the data and knowledge of the prerequisites for tax exemption. In this regard, the FTA recommends the following wording:
    "The undersigned confirm the accuracy of the data and declare that they are familiar with the prerequisites for tax exemption."
  9. Field for providing official confirmation

Confirmation of exportation by a Swiss customs office

When leaving, the buyer must present the goods and completed export document at a manned Swiss customs office without being requested to do so. The export customs office sends the confirmed export document to the supplier if it is provided with a self-addressed stamped envelope.

The supplier or buyer is responsible for taking the steps necessary to obtain confirmation of the export document. The Federal Customs Administration (FCA) is not obliged to notify persons leaving Switzerland about the export confirmation required by the supplier for tax exemption.

If no Customs officers are present at the time of departure, confirmation of exportation can be provided solely by a recognised office abroad. Export documents that are placed in the declaration box at the Swiss customs office will be returned by the FCA to the supplier unstamped. Exportation therefore cannot be proved in this way.

Confirmation of exportation by a recognised office abroad

If the confirmation of exportation is not provided by the FCA at the time of departure, the buyer has the following evidence options:

  • The buyer has the fact that the goods are abroad confirmed on the export document by a recognised office abroad, and then sends the document to the supplier.
  • The buyer sends the unconfirmed export document to the supplier, together with the original or copy of the import assessment issued by a foreign customs authority.

Recognised offices abroad include:

  • A foreign customs authority;
  • A Swiss embassy or consulate in the buyer's state of domicile.

Only those import assessments that are written in a Swiss national language or English will be accepted. If the confirmation is in another language, a certified translation into one of those languages must be enclosed.

Special rules for tourist groups

To make for easier understanding, only the term "tourist group" will be used for "foreign escorted tourist group" in the explanations below.

The supplier can apply the provisions mentioned above for tourist groups or, alternatively, take advantage of the special rules for tourist groups (Art. 7). These special rules offer the supplier the possibility of selling goods to members of escorted tourist groups directly without VAT within Switzerland. In this case, it is not necessary to leave the country via a manned Swiss customs office or subsequently obtain confirmation from a recognised office abroad. The right to carry out checks within the scope of the customs authority's usual inspections in the cross-border movement of goods and persons remains reserved.

The prerequisites for tax-free deliveries by the supplier to members of tourist groups are set out in the authorisation application form (form no. 1238). If the FTA grants authorisation, the seller can apply the special rules.

What is deemed to be a tourist group in accordance with the Exportation in Tourist Traffic Ordinance?

A tourist group consists of tour members who bought an organised tour from a commercial tour operator active in the travel industry. The tourist group consists of at least two members and must be accompanied by a commercially active tour guide from the time of group entry in Switzerland to group departure from Switzerland.

Examples; the following
are not tourist groups:

  • A six-member Japanese family tours around Switzerland. One daughter is familiar with Switzerland following a study trip, and acts as the guide. There is a schedule and route, and the entry and departure dates are known. However, it is not a tour organised by a commercial tour operator, and the daughter is not a commercially active tour guide.
  • The football club London United (GB) is in Sursee for a tournament and spends a day in Luzern at the end. The team's coach organised the trip and acts as the group's guide.
  • For its 50th anniversary, the foundry Dublin Ltd. (IE) organises a three-day trip in the Graubünden region for all of its staff. One of the employees acts as tour guide.

Examples; the following are tourist groups:

  • The ice hockey club Glasgow (GB) books a five-day escorted tour of the Austrian federal state Vorarlberg and Switzerland with a tour operator in Bregenz (AT). During the tour, the ice hockey club Glasgow plays a friendly match in both Feldkirch (AT) and Arosa. The tour guide is an agent of the tour operator.
  • To celebrate its 50th anniversary, the foundry Dublin Ltd. (IE) books a three-day tour of Central Switzerland with a tour operator in St. Gallen for all of its staff. The tour guide is an agent of the tour operator.

Tourist group entry in and departure from Switzerland (and purchases from the supplier)

By signing, the tour operator or the tour guide as an agent of the tour operator must confirm in a declaration for the supplier (seller) that

  • None of the members of the group is domiciled in Switzerland;
  • All of the tour members entered the country together and will leave together within 30 days after receiving the goods bought from the supplier.

The tour guide does not necessarily have to be present when the tourist group arrives in and leaves Switzerland. It is possible for the tour guide to meet the tourist group directly after arrival in Switzerland and to leave the group again directly before departure (e.g. at the airport).

The tourist group does not necessarily have to shop as a group in the supplier's retail outlet. It can happen that a separate programme is proposed and that a tourist group is divided up. It is irrelevant whether the tour members opt for a programme component when booking the trip or shortly beforehand. In such cases, however, it absolutely must be obvious for the supplier and also evident in the list of tour members which tour members from which tourist group are buying in the shop.

Example
A tourist group commences their tour at Zurich airport. The tour guide and tour members travelled individually to the meeting point at Zurich airport. Even if the tour members all took the same plane, the tour operator or tour guide cannot confirm that all of the tour members entered the country together, as the inbound and outbound trips were not organised for the tourist group as such. If a declaration does not contain confirmation from the tour operator or tour guide that all members entered the country together and will leave together, the group is not deemed a tourist group in accordance with the ordinance.

Documents required

The supplier (seller) must have the following documents and details:

  • List of the tour members, indicating their full names and the number of their official identity documents;
  • Details concerning the start and finish of the trip;
  • Details concerning the time of entry and departure;
  • Schedule;
  • Route;
  • Declaration signed by the commercial tour operator or commercially active tour guide,
  • Proof that the trip was offered by a commercial tour operator active in the travel industry (e.g. evident from commercial documents or electronic documents of the tour operator or tour guide);
  • An export document with the necessary contents in accordance with Article 3 of the Exportation in Tourist Traffic Ordinance for each individual buyer, together with a copy of the official identity document of each buyer (customer).

The supplier must file the aforementioned documents (and details) together for each tourist group, and present them to the FTA upon request (e.g. within the scope of a VAT check).

Further provisions

Tax exemption can be claimed solely by the supplier. The buyer cannot request a refund of Swiss VAT from either the FTA or the FCA. The civil courts, and not the FTA or FCA, are responsible for assessing any disputes with regard to refunds (Art. 6 para. 2 of the VAT Act).

If as a precautionary measure the supplier charges the VAT due to a customer domiciled abroad and does not refund it until after receipt of the confirmed export document or the unconfirmed export document together with the import assessment issued by a foreign customs authority, the supplier does not need to issue a credit note to the buyer for the value added tax.

 


Contact a specialist Value Added Tax VAT
Last updated on: 27.10.2011

End Content Area



Swiss Federal Tax Administration FTA
Contact | Legal framework
http://www.estv.admin.ch/mwst/themen/00160/00635/index.html?lang=en

Eidgenössische Steuerverwaltung ESTV

Diese Ausgabe ist für Browser ohne zureichende CSS-Unterstützung gedacht und richtet sich vor allem an Sehbehinderte. Alle Inhalte sind auch mit älteren Browsern voll nutzbar. Für eine grafisch ansprechendere Ansicht verwenden Sie aber bitte einen moder

Beginn Sprachwahl



Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Ausfuhren im Reiseverkehr bei Verkäufen über den Ladentisch ("tax-free for tourists")

Die nachfolgenden Erläuterungen basieren auf der Verordnung des EFD vom 24. März 2011 über die Steuerbefreiung von Inlandlieferungen von Gegenständen zwecks Ausfuhr im Reiseverkehr (SR 641.202.2; kurz: VO Ausfuhr im Reiseverkehr). Wenn nichts anderes erwähnt ist, betreffen die Artikel-Verweise diese Verordnung.

Grundsatz

Verkäufe im Reiseverkehr an Personen mit Wohnsitz im Ausland gelten als Inlandlieferungen und sind daher steuerbar.

Bedingungen für die Steuerbefreiung

Steuerbefreit sind Verkäufe im Reiseverkehr nur dann, wenn folgende Bedingungen kumulativ erfüllt sind:

  • Der Verkaufspreis der Gegenstände muss mindestens 300 Franken (inkl. MWST) betragen. Im Ausfuhrdokument ist allerdings der Verkaufspreis ohne MWST aufzuführen.
  • Der Abnehmer (= Käufer) darf nicht im Inland (Art. 3 Bst. a MWSTG) Wohnsitz haben. Keine Rolle spielt hingegen, ob er Ausländer oder Schweizer Bürger ist.
  • Die Gegenstände müssen für den privaten Gebrauch des Abnehmers oder für Geschenkzwecke bestimmt sein.
  • Die Gegenstände müssen vom Abnehmer innert 30 Tagen nach der Übernahme ins Zoll-Ausland ausgeführt werden.
  • Der Nachweis der Ausfuhr kann entweder mit einem bestätigten Ausfuhrdokument (Art. 3 - 5), oder mit einem unbestätigten Ausfuhrdokument verbunden mit einer Einfuhrveranlagung einer ausländischen Zollbehörde erbracht werden (Art. 6).
  • Das Ausfuhrdokument muss auf den Namen des Abnehmers lauten und darf nur die an diesen gelieferten Gegenstände enthalten. Sammeldeklarationen mit Gegenständen für verschiedene Abnehmer sind nicht zulässig.

Ist eine oder sind mehrere der vorstehend genannten Bedingungen nicht erfüllt, muss der Lieferant seine Lieferung versteuern.

Formulare

Die Formulare Nr. 11.49 und 11.49 [A] sind zwar weiterhin gültig, werden aber nicht mehr gedruckt. An ihrer Stelle hat die ESTV ein Musterformular eines Ausfuhrdokuments entworfen, welches von ihrer Website heruntergeladen werden kann.

Typ: PDF

Eingelesen am: 01.05.2011

Selbst entworfene Ausfuhrdokumente

Der Lieferant (=Verkäufer) kann auch selber ein Ausfuhrdokument erstellen. Dieses muss folgende Punkte enthalten:

  1. Aufdruck/Titel "Ausfuhrdokument im Reiseverkehr";
  2. Name und Ort des Lieferanten (Verkäufers), wie er im Geschäftsverkehr auftritt, sowie dessen MWST-Nummer (im neuen UID-Format oder im bisherigen 6-stelligen Format);
  3. Name und Anschrift des Abnehmers (Käufers);
  4. Nummer eines amtlichen Ausweises des Abnehmers und Art des Ausweises;
  5. Datum der Lieferung der Gegenstände;
  6. genaue Beschreibung und Verkaufspreis (ohne MWST) der Gegenstände;
  7. Feld für die Unterschriften des Lieferanten und des Abnehmers;
  8. Vermerk betreffend Richtigkeit der Angaben und Kenntnis der Voraussetzungen für die Steuerbefreiung. Die ESTV empfiehlt hierfür folgenden Wortlaut:
    "Die Unterzeichnenden bestätigen die Richtigkeit der Angaben und erklären, dass sie die Voraussetzungen für die Steuerbefreiung kennen.";
  9. Feld für das Anbringen der amtlichen Bestätigung.

Bestätigung der Ausfuhr durch eine schweizerische Zollstelle

Der Abnehmer muss bei der Ausreise über eine besetzte schweizerische Zollstelle die Gegenstände und das ausgefertigte Ausfuhrdokument unaufgefordert vorweisen. Die Ausfuhrzollstelle stellt dem Lieferanten das bestätigte Ausfuhrdokument zu, wenn ihr ein frankierter Briefumschlag mit der Adresse des Lieferanten übergeben wird.

Es ist Sache des Lieferanten beziehungsweise seines Abnehmers, das Erforderliche vorzukehren, um eine Bestätigung des Ausfuhrdokuments zu erwirken. Die Eidgenössische Zollverwaltung (EZV) ist nicht verpflichtet, die ausreisenden Personen auf die Ausfuhrbestätigung, die der Lieferant für die Steuerbefreiung benötigt, hinzuweisen.

Ist anlässlich der Ausreise kein Zollpersonal anwesend, kann die Bestätigung der Ausfuhr ausschliesslich über eine anerkannte Stelle im Ausland erfolgen. Ausfuhrdokumente, die an der schweizerischen Zollstelle in die Anmeldebox gelegt werden, werden von der EZV ungestempelt an den Lieferanten zurückgeschickt. Die Ausfuhr kann auf diese Weise somit nicht nachgewiesen werden.

Bestätigung der Ausfuhr durch eine anerkannte Stelle im Ausland

Wenn die Bestätigung der Ausfuhr durch die EZV bei der Ausreise unterbleibt, hat der Abnehmer folgende weitere Nachweismöglichkeiten:

  • Der Abnehmer lässt durch eine anerkannte Stelle im Ausland auf dem Ausfuhrdokument bestätigen, dass die Gegenstände im Ausland sind, und stellt das Dokument anschliessend dem Lieferanten zu.
  • Der Abnehmer stellt dem Lieferanten zusammen mit dem unbestätigten Ausfuhrdokument das Original oder eine Kopie der Einfuhrveranlagung einer ausländischen Zollbehörde zu.

Als anerkannte Stellen im Ausland gelten:

  • Eine ausländische Zollbehörde;
  • eine schweizerische Botschaft oder ein schweizerisches Konsulat im Wohnsitzstaat des Abnehmers.

Es werden nur Einfuhrveranlagungen akzeptiert, die in einer Schweizer Landessprache oder in Englisch ausgestellt sind. Liegt die Bestätigung in einer anderen Sprache vor, ist eine beglaubigte Übersetzung in eine dieser Sprachen beizulegen.

Sonderregelung für Reisegruppen

Zum besseren Verständnis wird in den nachfolgenden Ausführungen für "geführte ausländische Reisegruppe" nur noch der Begriff "Reisegruppe" verwendet.

Der Lieferant kann für Reisegruppen die eingangs genannten Bestimmungen anwenden oder aber alternativ von der Sonderregelung für Reisegruppen profitieren (Art. 7). Diese Sonderregelung bietet dem Lieferanten die Möglichkeit, Gegenstände an Teilnehmende von geführten Gruppenreisen im Inland direkt ohne MWST zu verkaufen. In diesem Fall ist weder eine Ausreise über eine besetzte inländische Zollstelle noch eine nachträgliche Bestätigung durch eine anerkannte Stelle im Ausland notwendig. Überprüfungen im Rahmen der üblichen Kontrolltätigkeit der Zollbehörde im Personen- und Warenverkehr bleiben vorbehalten.

Die Voraussetzungen für steuerbefreite Lieferungen durch den Lieferanten an Mitglieder von Reisegruppen sind im Bewilligungsantrag (Form. Nr. 1238) festgelegt. Wurde eine Bewilligung von der ESTV erteilt, kann der Verkäufer von der Sonderregelung Gebrauch machen.

Wann handelt es sich um eine Reisegruppe im Sinne der VO Ausfuhr im Reiseverkehr?

Eine Reisegruppe besteht aus Reiseteilnehmenden, die eine von einem in der Reisebranche kommerziell tätigen Reiseveranstalter organisierte Reise erworben haben. Die Reisegruppe besteht aus mindestens 2 Personen und muss von der gemeinsamen Einreise ins Inland bis zur gemeinsamen Wiederausreise ins Ausland von einem Reiseleiter begleitet sein, der kommerziell tätig ist.

Beispiele; keine Reisegruppe liegt in folgenden Fällen vor:

  • Eine sechsköpfige Familie aus Japan macht eine Reise durch die Schweiz. Eine Tochter kennt die Schweiz von einem Studienaufenthalt her und kümmert sich um die Reiseleitung. Es besteht ein Reiseprogramm und die Reiseroute sowie die Daten der Ein- und Ausreise sind bekannt. Es handelt sich jedoch weder um eine von einem kommerziell tätigen Reiseveranstalter organisierte Reise noch ist die Tochter als kommerzielle Reiseleiterin tätig.
  • Der FC Juventus Lörrach (DE) nimmt an einem Turnier in Sursee teil und verbringt anschliessend noch einen Tag in Luzern. Der Trainer der Mannschaft hat die Reise organisiert und führt die Gruppe.
  • Die Metallgiesserei Bregenz AG (AT) organisiert zum 50-jährigen Firmenbestehen für die ganze Belegschaft eine dreitägige Reise durchs Bündnerland. Reiseleiterin ist eine Angestellte.

Beispiele; eine Reisegruppe liegt in folgenden Fällen vor:

  • Der Eishockeyclub Lindau (DE) bucht bei einem Reiseveranstalter in Bregenz (AT) eine geführte fünftägige Reise durch das Bundesland Vorarlberg (AT) und die Schweiz. Dabei spielt der Eishockeyclub Lindau in Feldkirch (AT) und in Arosa je ein Freundschaftsspiel. Der Reiseleiter ist Erfüllungsgehilfe des Reiseveranstalters.
  • Die Metallgiesserei Bregenz AG (AT) bucht zur Feier des 50-jährigen Firmenbestehens für die ganze Belegschaft bei einem Reiseveranstalter in der Stadt St. Gallen eine dreitägige Reise durch die Innerschweiz. Der Reiseleiter ist Erfüllungsgehilfe des Reiseveranstalters.

Gemeinsame Ein- und Ausreise der Reisegruppe (und Einkauf beim Lieferanten)

Der Reiseveranstalter oder der Reiseleiter als Erfüllungsgehilfe des Reiseveranstalters muss in einer Erklärung zuhanden des Lieferanten (Verkäufer) mit seiner Unterschrift bestätigen, dass

  • keiner der Reiseteilnehmenden Wohnsitz im Inland hat;
  • alle Reiseteilnehmenden gemeinsam ins Inland eingereist sind und innert 30 Tagen nach der Übernahme der beim Lieferanten gekauften Gegenstände wieder gemeinsam ausreisen werden.

Der Reiseleiter muss bei der Einreise der Reisegruppe ins Inland und bei der Ausreise ins Ausland nicht zwingend anwesend sein. Es besteht die Möglichkeit, dass der Reiseleiter die Reisegruppe erst im Inland unmittelbar nach der Einreise in Empfang nimmt und sie unmittelbar vor der Ausreise (z.B. am Flughafen) wieder verabschiedet.

Die Reisegruppe muss im Ladengeschäft nicht zwingend als Einheit einkaufen. Es kann vorkommen, dass ein getrenntes Programm angeboten wird und sich eine Reisegruppe aufteilt. Ob die Reiseteilnehmenden sich bereits beim Buchen der Reise oder aber kurzfristig für einen Programmteil entscheiden, spielt keine Rolle. Für den Lieferanten muss aber auch in solchen Fällen zwingend erkennbar und in der Liste der Reiseteilnehmenden ersichtlich sein, welche Reiseteilnehmenden welcher Reisegruppe im Ladengeschäft einkaufen.

Beispiel:
Eine Reisegruppe startet ihre gemeinsame Reise am Flughafen Zürich. Die Reiseleiterin sowie die Reiseteilnehmenden haben die Reise bis zum Treffpunkt am Flughafen Zürich individuell absolviert. Selbst wenn die Reiseteilnehmenden alle im selben Flugzeug angereist sind, können der Reiseveranstalter oder der Reiseleiter in diesem Fall keine Bestätigung abgeben, dass alle Teilnehmenden gemeinsam ins Inland gereist sind, da die Ein- und Ausreise nicht für die Reisegruppe als solche organisiert wurde. Fehlt in einer Erklärung die Bestätigung des Reiseveranstalters oder des Reiseleiters, dass alle Teilnehmer gemeinsam eingereist sind und gemeinsam ausreisen werden, so handelt es sich bei dieser Reisegruppe nicht um eine Reisegruppe im Sinne der Verordnung.

Erforderliche Unterlagen

Der Lieferant (Verkäufer) muss über folgende Unterlagen und Angaben verfügen:

  • Liste der Reiseteilnehmenden mit Name, Vorname und Nummer des amtlichen Ausweises;
  • Angaben zu Beginn und Ende der Reise;
  • Angaben zum Zeitpunkt der Ein- und Ausreise;
  • Reiseprogramm;
  • Reiseroute;
  • unterzeichnete Erklärung des kommerziell tätigen Reiseveranstalters oder kommerziell tätigen Reiseleiters;
  • Nachweis, dass die Reise von einem in der Reisebranche kommerziell tätigen Reiseveranstalter angeboten wurde (z.B. aus Geschäftspapieren oder elektronischen Dokumenten des Reiseveranstalter oder Reiseleiters erkennbar);
  • Ausfuhrdokument für jeden einzelnen Abnehmer mit dem erforderlichen Inhalt gemäss Artikel 3 VO Ausfuhr im Reiseverkehr, ergänzt mit einer Kopie des amtlichen Ausweises jedes Abnehmers (Käufer).

Der Lieferant muss die genannten Unterlagen (und Angaben) pro geführte Reisegruppe in einem Dossier zusammenfassen und auf Verlangen der ESTV (z.B. aufgrund einer MWST-Kontrolle) vorweisen.

Weitere Bestimmungen

Die Steuerbefreiung kann ausschliesslich durch den Lieferanten geltend gemacht werden. Der Abnehmer kann weder bei der ESTV noch bei der EZV eine Rückerstattung der schweizerischen MWST beantragen. Für die Beurteilung allfälliger Streitigkeiten über die Rückerstattung sind nicht die ESTV oder die EZV, sondern die Zivilgerichte (Art. 6 Abs. 2 MWSTG) zuständig.

Wenn der Lieferant zu seiner Absicherung die geschuldete Mehrwertsteuer seinem im Ausland wohnhaften Kunden in Rechnung stellt und diese erst nach Eingang des bestätigten Ausfuhrdokuments oder des unbestätigten Ausfuhrdokuments verbunden mit der Einfuhrveranlagung einer ausländischen Zollbehörde rückvergütet, muss er seinem Abnehmer für die Belange der Mehrwertsteuer keine Gutschrift ausstellen.


Nachricht an Fachkontakt Mehrwertsteuer
Zuletzt aktualisiert am: 27.10.2011

Ende Inhaltsbereich



Eidgenössische Steuerverwaltung ESTV
Kontakt | Rechtliche Grundlagen
http://www.estv.admin.ch/mwst/themen/00160/00635/index.html?lang=de