Administrative assistance according to the FATCA

FATCA agreement: information letter for bank clients

The FATCA agreement and the act itself will enter into force by 1 July 2014. Within the scope of the implementation of the FATCA agreement, banks are required to disclose information on US accounts to the US Internal Revenue Service (IRS). US bank clients receive a letter from their bank, in which the bank requests their consent to its reporting of their account information to the IRS. Enclosed with the letter is an information letter from the FTA describing the steps involved in a possible administrative assistance procedure under the FATCA agreement. The United States can request administrative assistance only after it has received the aggregate reports from the bank and once the Protocol of Amendment to the double taxation agreement of 23 September 2009 has entered into force.

FATCA agreement: preparation of group requests

On 15 December 2014, the FTA announced that by the end of January 2015, it expects to provide the reporting Swiss financial institutions with the definite guidelines for the documentation, which has to be transferred to the FTA in order for it to examine the group requests.

On 15 January 2015, the State Secretariat for International Financial Matters SIF informed that the US competent authority will not claim significant non-compliance of the reporting Swiss financial institutions, as set out in Article 11 paragraph 2 of the FATCA agreement, if they, due to the late rollout of the IDES-system, submit the aggregated note of the non-consenting US accounts for the year 2014, after 31 January 2015 but no later than 31 March 2015.

In view of the possible delay of the submission of the aggregated note to the IRS, which forms the basis of group requests under the FATCA agreement, the FTA has decided that it will publish the definite guidelines for the required documentation, by mid February 2015.

After having published the definite guidelines for the required documentation in February 2015, the FTA published an update of these guidelines in March 2016 (please see the documents below: FATCA Information Delivery, Technical Specification and User Guide for Financial Institutions according to FATCA IGA 2 and SEI-XML). A compilation of the modifications applied can be found under chapter 1.3.1 "Updates Version 1.1" of the User Guide.

FATCA Information Delivery (PDF, 736 kB, 21.07.2016)Technical Specification and User Guide for Financial Institutions according to FATCA IGA 2

FATCA Credential Form (PDF, 931 kB, 21.07.2016)Credentials Exchange - Information Delivery




Last modification 29.01.2018

Top of page

https://www.estv.admin.ch/content/estv/en/home/internationales-steuerrecht/fachinformationen/amts-und-rechtshilfe/amtshilfe-nach-fatca.html

Amtshilfe nach FATCA

FATCA-Abkommen: Informationsschreiben an Bankkunden

Das FATCA-Abkommen und das FATCA-Gesetz werden vor dem 1. Juli 2014 in Kraft gesetzt. Im Rahmen der Umsetzung von FATCA sind die Banken gehalten, der amerikanischen Steuerbehörde IRS Informationen über US-Konten zu übermitteln. US-Bankkunden erhalten von ihrer Bank ein Schreiben, mit dem die Bank um Zustimmung zur Übermittlung von deren Kontodaten an den IRS ersucht. Diesem Schreiben ist ein Informationsschreiben der ESTV beigefügt. Es orientiert über den Ablauf eines möglichen Amtshilfeverfahrens unter dem FATCA-Abkommen. Die USA können um solche Amtshilfe jedoch erst nach Erhalt der aggregierten Meldungen von der Bank und nach Inkrafttreten des Änderungsprotokolls zum Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen vom 23. September 2009 ersuchen.

FATCA-Abkommen: Vorbereitung von Gruppenersuchen

Am 15. Dezember 2014 hat die ESTV angekündigt, dass die definitiven Vorgaben, welche an die der ESTV für die Behandlung von Gruppenersuchen zu übermittelnde Dokumentation gestellt werden, den rapportierenden schweizerischen Finanzinstituten voraussichtlich Ende Januar 2015 zur Verfügung stehen würden.

Am 15. Januar 2015 hat das Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen SIF informiert, dass die zuständige US-Behörde gegenüber rapportierenden schweizerischen Finanzinstituten keine erhebliche Nichterfüllung gemäss Artikel 11 Absatz 2 FATCA-Abkommen geltend macht, wenn diese wegen der späten Bereitstellung des IDES-Systems die aggregierte Meldung der US-Konten ohne Zustimmungserklärung für das Jahr 2014 nach dem 31. Januar 2015, aber bis spätestens am 31. März 2015 einreichen.

Mit Blick auf die damit verbundene mögliche verzögerte aggregierte Meldung an den IRS, welche die Grundlage für Gruppenersuchen unter dem FATCA-Abkommen bildet, hat die ESTV entschieden, die definitiven Vorgaben an die notwendige Dokumentation Mitte Februar 2015 zu veröffentlichen.

Nach entsprechender Veröffentlichung der Vorgaben an die notwendige Dokumentation im Februar 2015 hat die ESTV im März 2016 ein Update dieser Vorgaben bekannt gegeben (vgl. untenstehende Dokumentation: FATCA Information Delivery, Technical Specification and User Guide for Financial Institutions according to FATCA IGA 2 und SEI-XML). Eine Zusammenstellung der erfolgten Anpassungen lässt sich dem Kapitel 1.3.1 "Updates Version 1.1" des User Guides entnehmen.

FATCA Information Delivery (PDF, 736 kB, 21.07.2016)Technical Specification and User Guide for Financial Institutions according to FATCA IGA 2

FATCA Credential Form (PDF, 931 kB, 21.07.2016)Credentials Exchange - Information Delivery




Letzte Änderung 29.01.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.estv.admin.ch/content/estv/de/home/internationales-steuerrecht/fachinformationen/amts-und-rechtshilfe/amtshilfe-nach-fatca.html