Administrative assistance according to the FATCA

FATCA agreement: information letter for bank clients

The FATCA agreement and the act itself will enter into force by 1 July 2014. Within the scope of the implementation of the FATCA agreement, banks are required to disclose information on US accounts to the US Internal Revenue Service (IRS). US bank clients receive a letter from their bank, in which the bank requests their consent to its reporting of their account information to the IRS. Enclosed with the letter is an information letter from the FTA describing the steps involved in a possible administrative assistance procedure under the FATCA agreement. The United States can request administrative assistance only after it has received the aggregate reports from the bank and once the Protocol of Amendment to the double taxation agreement of 23 September 2009 has entered into force.

FATCA agreement: preparation of group requests

On 15 December 2014, the FTA announced that by the end of January 2015, it expects to provide the reporting Swiss financial institutions with the definite guidelines for the documentation, which has to be transferred to the FTA in order for it to examine the group requests.

On 15 January 2015, the State Secretariat for International Financial Matters SIF informed that the US competent authority will not claim significant non-compliance of the reporting Swiss financial institutions, as set out in Article 11 paragraph 2 of the FATCA agreement, if they, due to the late rollout of the IDES-system, submit the aggregated note of the non-consenting US accounts for the year 2014, after 31 January 2015 but no later than 31 March 2015.

In view of the possible delay of the submission of the aggregated note to the IRS, which forms the basis of group requests under the FATCA agreement, the FTA has decided that it will publish the definite guidelines for the required documentation, by mid February 2015.

After having published the definite guidelines for the required documentation in February 2015, the FTA published an update of these guidelines in March 2016 (please see the documents below: FATCA Information Delivery, Technical Specification and User Guide for Financial Institutions according to FATCA IGA 2 and SEI-XML). A compilation of the modifications applied can be found under chapter 1.3.1 "Updates Version 1.1" of the User Guide.

FATCA Information Delivery (PDF, 736 kB, 21.07.2016)Technical Specification and User Guide for Financial Institutions according to FATCA IGA 2

FATCA Credential Form (PDF, 931 kB, 21.07.2016)Credentials Exchange - Information Delivery




Last modification 29.01.2018

Top of page

https://www.estv.admin.ch/content/estv/en/home/internationales-steuerrecht/fachinformationen/amts-und-rechtshilfe/amtshilfe-nach-fatca.html

Assistance administrative selon FATCA

Accord FATCA : lettre d’information aux clients bancaires

L'accord et la loi FATCA entreront en vigueur le 1er juillet 2014. Dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de l'accord FATCA, les banques sont tenues de transmettre des renseignements concernant des comp-tes américains à l'autorité fiscale américaine IRS. La banque envoie aux clients américains une lettre leur demandant leur accord pour transmettre les données de leurs comptes à l'IRS et une lettre de l'AFC qui les informe du déroulement d'une éventuelle procédure d'assistance administrative selon l'accord FATCA. Les Etats-Unis ne peuvent toutefois demander cette assistance qu'après réception des informations agrégées de la banque et après l'entrée en vigueur du protocole révisant la conven-tion contre les doubles impositions du 23 septembre 2009. 

Accord FATCA : préparation des demandes groupées

 

Le 15 décembre 2014, l'AFC a annoncé son intention de fournir aux établissements financiers suisses rapporteurs les exigences définitives concernant la documentation qu'elles sont tenues de transmettre à l'AFC dans le cadre du traitement des demandes groupées, probablement fin janvier 2015.

Le 15 janvier 2015, le Secrétariat d'Etat aux questions financières internationales SFI a communiqué que l'autorité compétente américaine n'invoquera pas une infraction grave selon l'art. 11, par. 2, de l'accord FATCA à l'encontre des établissements financiers suisses rapporteurs si ceux-ci, en raison de la mise à disposition tardive du système IDES, transmettent les données agrégées relatives aux comptes américains sans déclaration de consentement pour l'année 2014, après le 31 janvier 2015 mais au plus tard le 31 mars 2015.

Compte tenu du retard envisagé quant à la transmission des données agrégées à l'IRS, qui constitue la base des demandes groupées dans le cadre de l'accord FATCA, l'AFC a décidé de publier les exigences définitives concernant la documentation nécessaire d'ici mi-février 2015.

Les instructions quant à la documentation exigée ayant été publiée en février 2015, l’AFC a communiqué une mise à jour de ces instructions en mars 2016 (cf. documents ci-dessous : FATCA Information Delivery, Technical Specification and User Guide for Financial Institutions according to FATCA IGA 2 et SEI-XML). Une compilation des modifications apportées figure au chapitre 1.3.1 « Updates Version 1.1 » du User Guide.

FATCA Information Delivery (PDF, 736 kB, 21.07.2016)Technical Specification and User Guide for Financial Institutions according to FATCA IGA 2

FATCA Credential Form (PDF, 931 kB, 21.07.2016)Credentials Exchange - Information Delivery




Dernière modification 12.09.2018

Début de la page

https://www.estv.admin.ch/content/estv/fr/home/internationales-steuerrecht/fachinformationen/amts-und-rechtshilfe/amtshilfe-nach-fatca.html