Interest on default and remuneration

Measures in relation to coronavirus

From 20 March 2020 until 31 December 2020, no default interest shall be due for late payment. This provision is to be understood as meaning that between 20 March 2020 and 31 December 2020 the default interest rate is 0%. During this period, this zero rate will apply to all VAT claims, including those arising before 20 March 2020. (Measures due to the coronavirus). The rate of interest on remuneration remains 4 %. 

 

Default interest

  1. Interest for quarterly and half-yearly invoice(s)
    If tax due for a reporting period is paid after the due date under Art. 86 para 1 VAT Act (end of the reporting period + 60 days), default interest is payable without a reminder (Art. 87 para 1 VAT Act). The date from which the Main VAT Division could have had the tax amount is shown on the invoice. Interest is payable in all cases regardless of the reason for the delay, this includes cases where the Main VAT Division granted an extension. In order not to have to pay default interest in the case of an extension, the Main VAT Division recommends making a payment on account for the amount of the probable tax due before the due date (end of the reporting period + 60 days). The interest aims to ensure equality with taxpayers who pay the tax by the due date.

  2. Interest concerning supplementary invoice(s)
    In accordance with Art. 87 para 1 VAT Act, default interest is due if the tax made payable in a supplementary invoice is not paid until after the due date. When these receivables concern multiple tax periods, the due date, known as the "average due date", refers to the periods in which tax should have been paid. The interest is therefore to be calculated for the time period from this due date (tax falling due) until the payment is received in the Main VAT Division's account.

  3. Interest due to retroactive entries
    If registration as a taxpayer is not made within the prescribed time limit, the Main VAT Division must enter persons liable to pay VAT into the register retrospectively; this must be done back to the date provided in the letter of entry. In this case, a retrospectively registered person's first value added tax return (VAT return) will mostly likely contain multiple expired tax periods. In such cases, tax on deliveries and services provided as well as own use, is not payable from the date in the entry letter, instead it is due from the value date provided in the upper part of the VAT return form. This value date, also known as the "average due date" is determined according to the tax periods for which tax should have been paid. The interest is therefore calculated for the time period from this value date until the payment is received in the Main VAT Division's account.

 

Refund interest

Time limit for refunding a credit balance in favour of the taxpayer

A taxpayer's credit balance is offset again his or her tax liability or, when there is no tax liability, the credit balance is refunded. Refund interest is paid from the 61st day until the refund is made in the case of delayed refunds which are unfounded. The payment address and any changes must be provided in writing to the Main VAT Division, together with a payment slip.

 

Interest rate

Amount of interest on default and remuneration

The interest rate for interest on default as well as remuneration interest is based on the Ordinance of the Federal Department of Finance on Interest and on the Ordinance of the Federal Council of 20 March 2020 on the temporary waiver of interest on default in the event of late payment of taxes, incentive taxes and customs duties and waiver of the loan repayment by the Swiss Association for Hotel Credit.

 
 
Default interest
From date Interest rate
20 March 2020 until 31 December 2020  0.0%
1 January 2020 until 19 March 2020
4.0%
1 January 2010 to 31 December 2011 4.5%
1 January 1995 to 31 December 2009 5.0%
1 July 1990 to 31 December 1994 6.0%
to 30 June 1990 5.0%
Refund interest
From date
Interest rate
From 1 January 2012 4.0%
1 January 2010 to 31 December 2011 4.5%
1 January 1995 to 31 December 2009 5.0%

Last modification 27.03.2020

Top of page

https://www.estv.admin.ch/content/estv/en/home/mehrwertsteuer/fachinformationen/inkasso/verzugs--und-verguetungszins.html

Intérêt moratoire et intérêt rémunératoire

Mesures spéciales adoptées en raison du coronavirus

Aucun intérêt moratoire n'est dû depuis le 20 mars 2020 jusqu'au 31 décembre 2020 en cas de paiement tardif de l’impôt. Il faut comprendre par cette disposition que le taux de l'intérêt moratoire s'élève à 0 % entre le 20 mars 2020 et le 31 décembre 2020. Ce taux zéro vaut pendant cette période pour toutes les créances de TVA, donc aussi celles qui sont nées avant le 20 mars 2020 (Mesures en raison du coronavirus). Le taux de l'intérêt rémunératoire reste à 4 %. 

 

Intérêt moratoire

  1. Intérêt pour les décomptes trimestriels ou semestriels
    Lorsque l'impôt dû pour une période de décompte est acquitté après l'échéance selon l'art. 86 al. 1 LTVA (fin de la période de décompte + 60 jours), un intérêt moratoire est dû sans sommation (art. 87 al. 1 LTVA). La date à partir de laquelle la Division principale de la TVA (DP TVA) aurait pu disposer du montant de l'impôt est mentionnée sur la facture. L'intérêt est dû dans tous les cas de paiement tardif de l'impôt - indépendamment des motifs de ce retard - et donc également lorsque la DP TVA octroie un délai. Pour ne pas devoir payer un intérêt moratoire lorsqu'un délai est accordé pour la remise du décompte, la DP TVA recommande d'effectuer avant l'échéance (fin de la période de décompte + 60 jours) un paiement à titre d'acompte, dont le montant correspondra plus ou moins à l'impôt dû. L'intérêt moratoire a pour but de maintenir l'égalité de traitement avec les contribuables qui s'acquittent de l'impôt aux échéances.

  2. Intérêt concernant les décomptes complémentaires
    En vertu de l'article 87 alinéa 1 LTVA , un intérêt moratoire est dû lorsque l'impôt faisant l'objet d'un décompte complémentaire n'est payé qu'après la date d'échéance. Lorsque ces créances s'étalent sur plusieurs périodes fiscales, la date d'échéance, dite "échéance moyenne", se réfère aux périodes au cours desquelles l'impôt aurait dû être payé. L'intérêt doit donc être calculé pour la période à partir de cette date d'échéance (échéance de l'impôt) jusqu'à la date à laquelle le paiement a été porté au crédit du compte de la DP TVA.

  3. Intérêt en raison d'une inscription rétroactive
    Lorsque l'annonce en tant qu'assujetti à l'impôt n'est pas effectuée dans le délai prescrit, la DP TVA doit procéder rétroactivement à l'inscription dans le registre des assujettis TVA, et cela à la date communiquée dans sa lettre de confirmation d'inscription. Le premier décompte TVA du contribuable inscrit rétroactivement portera très probablement dans ce cas-là sur plusieurs périodes fiscales déjà échues. Dans de tels cas, l'impôt pour les livraisons, prestations de services et prestations à soi-même est dû, non pas à partir de la date figurant sur la lettre de confirmation d'inscription de la DP TVA, mais à partir de la date d'échéance (valeur) figurant dans la partie supérieure du formulaire de décompte TVA. Cette valeur, appelée également "échéance moyenne", est fixée sur la base des périodes de décompte pour lesquelles l'impôt aurait dû être acquitté. L'intérêt est donc calculé pour la période à partir de cette date d'échéance moyenne jusqu'à la date à laquelle le paiement a été porté au crédit du compte de la DP TVA.  

Intérêt rémunératoire

Délai pour le remboursement en faveur de l'assujetti

Les avoirs du contribuable sont compensés avec sa dette fiscale ou - s'il n'en a pas - payés. En cas de paiement insuffisant ou tardif, un intérêt rémunératoire est alloué à compter du 61ème jour jusqu'à la date du paiement. L'adresse du paiement et ses éventuelles modifications doivent être annoncées par écrit à la DP TVA en y joignant un bulletin de versement.

Taux d'intérêt

Montant de l'intérêt moratoire et rémunératoire

Le montant du taux d'intérêt en cas d'intérêt moratoire ou rémunératoire résulte de l'ordonnance du Département fédéral des finances sur l'intérêt moratoire et de l’ordonnance du Conseil fédéral suisse du 20 mars 2020 sur la renonciation temporaire aux intérêts moratoires en cas de paiement tardif d’impôts, de taxes d’incitation et de droits de douane ainsi que sur la renonciation au remboursement du prêt par la Société suisse de crédit Hôtelier.

 
Intérêt moratoire
Date Intérêt
20 mars 2020 jusqu'au 31 décembre 2020  0.0%
1er janvier 2012 jusqu’au 19 mars 2020 4.0%
1er janvier 2010 jusqu'au 31 décembre 2011 4.5%
1er janvier 1995 jusqu'au 31 décembre 2009 5.0%
1er juillet 1990 jusqu'au 31 décembre 1994 6.0%
jusqu'au 30 juin 1990 5.0%
Intérêt rémunératoire
Date
Intérêt
dès le 1er janvier 2012 4.0%
1er janvier 2010 jusqu'au 31 décembre 2011 4.5%
1er janvier 1995 jusqu'au 31décembre 2009 5.0%

Dernière modification 27.03.2020

Début de la page

https://www.estv.admin.ch/content/estv/fr/home/mehrwertsteuer/fachinformationen/inkasso/verzugs--und-verguetungszins.html