Anticipatory Tax

Withholding tax reform

Withholding tax and transfer stamp tax are obstacles for the Swiss capital market. At the same time, there are gaps in the current withholding tax system. This reform can alleviate both problems.      

Swiss capital market (interest-bearing investments)

Withholding tax is an obstacle for economic policy particularly in the case of interest-bearing investments (bonds). Under current law, interest-bearing investments are subject to withholding tax of 35%, which is levied irrespective of who the investor is. It applies equally to private and institutional, domestic and foreign investors.
Foreign investors are entitled to a full or partial refund of withholding tax, depending on the applicable double taxation agreement (DTA) between Switzerland and their country of residence. However, asserting this right entails an administrative burden and a temporary liquidity shortage for the investor.

As a result of withholding tax, Swiss groups generally issue their bonds abroad rather than in Switzerland, preferably in a country without withholding tax. This ensures that the securities are attractive for investors, and also means that the value added and the associated jobs are located abroad as well.

Transfer stamp tax is levied on trading in certain securities, including bonds. The tax is due if at least one of the parties involved in the trade is a Swiss securities dealer. Each securities dealer involved is subject to half the tax. The total tax amounts to 0.15% of the sales proceeds in the case of domestic bonds, and 0.3% of the sales proceeds for foreign securities.

 
 

Safeguarding purpose

Domestic investors are fully entitled to a refund of withholding tax. Withholding tax thus serves a safeguarding purpose in Switzerland. It safeguards the income and wealth tax of the Confederation, the cantons and the communes. The current system contains deficiencies in this protection. No withholding tax is levied on foreign securities, although these securities are subject to income and wealth tax in the same way as domestic securities. Bonds issued abroad by Swiss groups of companies are also considered to be foreign securities.

 
 

Tax receipts

Withholding tax contributes to the tax receipts of the Confederation and the cantons (they receive 10% of the revenue). It pursues a fiscal purpose particularly at the international level. In addition, there are cases in which a withholding tax refund is not claimed, e.g. because foreign investors entitled to a refund dread the administrative burden.

In 2019, the FTA recorded a total of CHF 38.7 billion in withholding tax receipts and reimbursed CHF 28.9 billion. Moreover, Switzerland formed provisions totalling CHF 1.5 billion. The Confederation and the cantons booked CHF 8.3 billion in tax receipts.

Transfer stamp tax receipts amounted to just under CHF 1.3 billion in 2019. Almost CHF 200 million of this was attributable to trading in domestic securities, of which a small percentage was again attributable to domestic bond turnover. 

 
 

Review

Several attempts have already been made to reform withholding tax.
Most recently, the Federal Council proposed in 2014 to exempt Swiss interest-bearing investments from withholding tax for institutional and foreign investors. As a result, Swiss groups would be able to issue their bonds in Switzerland and also locate intragroup financing activities in Switzerland. In the case of individuals resident in Switzerland, withholding tax would continue to be levied, and foreign securities would also be included. That would secure tax much more robustly in Switzerland and combat tax evasion. The reform would have had a positive economic impact. At the very least, it should have been budget-neutral for the Confederation, the cantons and the communes. Due to the controversial reactions to this proposal in the consultation, the Federal Council postponed the planned reform.

The Federal Council addressed the reform of withholding tax twice in 2019 and adopted its key parameters in that regard. It instructed the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) to prepare a consultation draft.

  • Key parameters press release (in French, German, Italian)
  • Further key parameters press release (in French, German, Italian) 
 
 

Current developments: Federal Council consultation draft

During its meeting on 1 April 2020, the Federal Council initiated the consultation on the withholding tax reform (press release). The consultation will run until 8 July 2020.

The core elements of the Federal Council consultation draft are as follows:

  • Exemption of domestic legal entities and foreign investors from withholding tax on Swiss interest income
  • Strengthening of the safeguarding purpose by including foreign interest income with withholding tax for individuals in Switzerland, thereby eliminating a significant gap and making an effective contribution to combating tax evasion in Switzerland
  • Equal treatment of direct and indirect investments, which will also strengthen Switzerland as a fund location
  • Abolition of transfer stamp tax on domestic bonds

Technically, this will be implemented by introducing withholding tax according to the paying agent principle for interest income. Under the paying agent principle, withholding tax is no longer paid by the debtor (e.g. a company that issues a bond and pays interest on it), but by the investor's paying agent (e.g. the bank where the investor holds the bond in a custody account). The new withholding tax applies if the paying agent is domiciled in Switzerland.

Compared with previous reform efforts, the Federal Council is proposing various measures to reduce the complexity and thus the settlement and liability risks:

  • The reform is limited to interest-bearing investments
  • Withholding tax on interest income is levied exclusively in the case of individuals in Switzerland
  • Banks only have to deliver it on a quarterly basis
  • Accrued interest (interest accrued but not yet paid at the time of the sale of a bond) is not subject to withholding tax
  • Companies can choose between the old and the new withholding tax
  • Paying agents are criminally liable only in the case of intent
  • Paying agents should be entitled to compensation for the implementation work involved

In advance of its decision, the Federal Council consulted two studies commissioned by the FDF and carried out by BAK Economics and KPMG:

  • BAK Economics examined the dynamic effects of abolishing stamp duty and of a comprehensive withholding tax reform, as well as a staggered scenario in which the debt-related elements would be implemented first and only later the equity-related elements.
  • KPMG focused primarily on the static financial impact of reducing the withholding tax rate on domestic participation rights.

In the Federal Council's view, the implementation of a comprehensive tax reform is currently ruled out due to the reduction in receipts totalling billions of Swiss francs. Such a reform would involve the complete abolition of transfer stamp tax (a statically estimated receipt reduction of as much as CHF 1.2 bn) and/or the lowering of the rate of withholding tax on participation income (a static receipt reduction of CHF 1.6 bn according to the KPMG study).

In contrast, the fiscal risks are substantially lower in the case of a less comprehensive reform that focuses on strengthening the debt market. Exempting domestic legal entities and foreign investors from withholding tax on interest-bearing investments would lead to a statically estimated receipt reduction of CHF 130 million per year. This estimate also includes the potential additional receipts from the strengthening of the safeguarding purpose in the case of individuals in Switzerland (CHF 35 mn). 90% of the lost receipts would concern the Confederation and 10% the cantons. Moreover, the transfer stamp tax on domestic bonds is to be abolished. This measure would lead to a reduction in receipts of an estimated CHF 50 million, which would affect only the federal budget. This stands against dynamic additional receipts for the Confederation, cantons and communes arising from the strengthening of the capital market. The reform would certainly lead to additional receipts for the cantons and communes when the dynamic effects are taken into account. But even for the Confederation, the reform could finance itself after about 5 years. All in all, this reform's cost-benefit ratio can be considered to be extremely favourable. 

 
 

Selected further developments

A sub-committee (Sub-Co) was set up within the framework of the parliamentary initiative 17.494, which was endorsed by both chambers. Its task is to draw up a proposal and coordinate its work with that of the Federal Council. The sub-committee published its key parameters for a withholding tax reform in June 2019. It has currently suspended its work on its own proposal in favour of the Federal Council's proposal.

In January 2020, the advisory board for the future of the Swiss financial centre submitted a strategic roadmap for financial market policy to the Federal Council. In this, the advisory board recommended that priority be given to an unshackling of the Swiss capital market in tax terms. By restructuring withholding tax, as proposed by the Federal Council in 2019 in its key parameters, Switzerland could become much more appealing for capital market transactions. In the medium term, moreover, the reform of withholding tax on equity issues and of transfer stamp tax could result in the attractiveness of the Swiss financial centre increasing still further.

The informal platform for domestic banks called Koordination Inlandbanken (KIB) presented its own reform concept with two components:

  • External settlement: the concept envisages settlement of the new withholding tax by the depository (e.g. SIX Swiss Exchange), which acts on behalf of the paying agents, while liability for the withholding tax remains with the paying agents. This is a contractual relationship under private law between the paying agents and SIX.
  • Indirect investments: according to KIB, the new withholding tax should in principle be introduced only for direct interest-bearing investments. This should make the new withholding tax as simple as possible and minimise the liability and settlement risks of banks. The current system should be retained for indirect investments.
 
 

Last modification 06.04.2020

Top of page

https://www.estv.admin.ch/content/estv/en/home/verrechnungssteuer/verrechnungssteuer.html

Impôt anticipé

Réforme de l'impôt anticipé

L’impôt anticipé et le droit de timbre de négociation portent préjudice au marché suisse des capitaux. De plus, le système de l’impôt anticipé en vigueur comporte des lacunes au niveau de sa fonction de garantie. La présente réforme est de nature à atténuer ces deux problèmes.      

Marché suisse des capitaux (placements portant intérêts)

L’impôt anticipé constitue un obstacle économique, en particulier pour les placements portant intérêts (obligations). Selon le droit en vigueur (PDF, 1 MB, 21.03.2019), les placements portant intérêts sont soumis à l’impôt anticipé au taux de 35 %. L’impôt est perçu indépendamment de la personne de l’investisseur, que celui-ci soit un particulier ou une institution et qu’il soit suisse ou étranger.

Les investisseurs étrangers peuvent quant à eux prétendre à un remboursement total ou partiel de l’impôt anticipé si leur pays de résidence a conclu une convention contre les doubles impositions (CDI) avec la Suisse (PDF, 891 kB, 21.02.2020). Cependant, faire valoir ce droit représente une charge administrative considérable, et le prélèvement est synonyme de ponction temporaire des liquidités en question.

À cause de l’impôt anticipé, les groupes de sociétés suisses n’émettent en règle générale pas leurs obligations en Suisse, mais à l’étranger, de préférence dans un pays sans impôt à la source. Ils s’assurent ainsi que leurs titres soient attrayants pour les investisseurs. Par conséquent, la création de valeur et les postes de travail qui en découlent sont également implantés à l’étranger.

Le droit de timbre de négociation est perçu sur le négoce de certains titres, y compris sur le négoce d’obligations. Il est dû lorsqu’au moins une des parties participant à la transaction est un négociant suisse en valeurs mobilières. Chaque négociant participant à la transaction doit verser la moitié du droit. Le droit total est de 0,15 % du produit de la vente pour les obligations suisses et de 0,3 % pour les titres étrangers. 

 

Fonction de garantie

Les investisseurs suisses ont droit à un remboursement total de l’impôt anticipé. Au niveau national, ce dernier a donc une fonction de garantie. Il garantit le recouvrement des impôts que la Confédération, les cantons et les communes perçoivent sur le revenu et sur la fortune. Le système en vigueur (PDF, 1 MB, 21.03.2019) présente des lacunes en ce qui concerne cette garantie. L’impôt anticipé n’est pas prélevé sur les revenus de titres étrangers, bien que ces derniers soient soumis aux impôts sur le revenu et sur la fortune à l’instar des titres suisses. Or, les emprunts contractés à l’étranger par des groupes de sociétés suisses ont également le statut de titres étrangers. 

 

Recettes fiscales

L’impôt anticipé contribue aux recettes fiscales de la Confédération et des cantons (ces derniers reçoivent 10 % de son produit net annuel). Sur le plan international, il poursuit un but fiscal. À cela s’ajoutent des cas dans lesquels le remboursement de l’impôt anticipé n’est pas demandé, par exemple parce que des investisseurs étrangers qui ont droit au remboursement évitent les charges administratives.

En 2019, l’AFC a comptabilisé au total 38,7 milliards de francs de recettes de l’impôt anticipé et a remboursé 28,9 milliards de francs à ce titre. La Suisse a en outre constitué de nouvelles provisions à hauteur de 1,5 milliard de francs. Les recettes fiscales de la Confédération et des cantons se sont donc montées à 8,3 milliards de francs.

La même année, les recettes issues des droits de timbre ont presque atteint 1,3 milliard de francs, dont 200 millions de francs provenant du commerce de titres suisses. Les opérations portant sur des emprunts suisses représentent un petit pourcentage de cette somme. 

 

Rétrospective

La réforme de l’impôt anticipé a déjà donné lieu à plusieurs essais. En 2014, lors de la dernière tentative, le Conseil fédéral a proposé d’exonérer de l’impôt anticipé les placements suisses portant intérêts effectués par des investisseurs institutionnels et étrangers. Cette approche devait permettre aux groupes de sociétés suisses d’émettre leurs obligations à partir de la Suisse et d’y implanter leurs activités de financement internes. Les particuliers domiciliés en Suisse auraient toujours été soumis à l’impôt anticipé, mais désormais aussi sur les titres étrangers. Cette modification aurait permis de renforcer la garantie du recouvrement de l’impôt dans le pays, mais aussi de lutter contre la soustraction d’impôt. Cette réforme aurait eu des effets économiques positifs et aucune incidence – voire une incidence favorable – sur les recettes de la Confédération, des cantons et des communes. Lors de la consultation, cette proposition a suscité des réactions contrastées, si bien que le Conseil fédéral a reporté la réforme planifiée.

En 2019, le Conseil fédéral s’est penché à deux reprises sur la réforme de l’impôt anticipé et en a adopté les lignes directrices. Ensuite, il a chargé le Département fédéral des finances (DFF) d’élaborer un projet destiné à la consultation.

Derniers développements: mise en consultation du projet du Conseil fédéral
Lors de sa séance du 1er avril 2020, le Conseil fédéral a ouvert la consultation sur la réforme de l’impôt anticipé (le communiqué). La consultation prendra fin le 8 juillet 2020.

Le projet de réforme du Conseil fédéral comporte les éléments clés suivants:

  • exonération, pour les personnes morales sises en Suisse et les investisseurs étrangers, de l’impôt anticipé sur les placements suisses portant intérêts;
  • renforcement de la fonction de garantie de l’impôt anticipé grâce à l’imposition des revenus d’intérêts étrangers réalisés par des personnes physiques domiciliées en Suisse; cette mesure permet de combler une lacune importante de la fonction de garantie de l’impôt anticipé et contribue efficacement à la lutte contre la soustraction d’impôt en Suisse;
  • égalité de traitement entre les placements directs et indirects, ce qui contribue à renforcer la place suisse de négoce de fonds;
  • suppression du droit de timbre de négociation sur les obligations suisses.

Sur le plan technique, ces mesures sont mises en œuvre grâce à l’introduction de l’impôt anticipé fondé sur le principe de l’agent payeur pour les revenus d’intérêts. Dans le cadre de ce principe, l’impôt anticipé n’est plus retenu par le débiteur de la prestation imposable (par ex. l’entreprise qui émet une obligation et verse les intérêts en découlant), mais par l’agent payeur de l’investisseur (par ex. la banque auprès de laquelle l’investisseur a déposé l’obligation). Le nouvel impôt anticipé s’applique lorsque l’agent payeur à son siège en Suisse.

À la différence des tentatives de réforme précédentes, le Conseil fédéral propose diverses mesures visant à atténuer la complexité du projet et donc aussi les risques de règlement et de responsabilité:

  • la réforme ne concerne que les placements portant intérêts;
  • l’impôt anticipé sur les revenus d’intérêts n’est prélevé que pour les personnes physiques domiciliées en Suisse;
  • les banques ne doivent le verser que trimestriellement;
  • les intérêts courus (intérêts cumulés, mais pas encore payés lors de la vente d’un emprunt) ne sont pas soumis à l’impôt anticipé;
  • les entreprises peuvent choisir entre l’ancien et le nouveau système pour l’impôt anticipé;
  • la responsabilité pénale des agents payeurs est limitée au dol;
  • les agents payeurs doivent percevoir des indemnités pour les coûts de mise en œuvre qu’ils supportent.

En amont de sa décision, le Conseil fédéral s’est enquis des conclusions de deux études menées par BAK Economics et KPMG sur mandat du Département fédéral des finances (DFF):

Le Conseil fédéral est d’avis que la mise en œuvre d’une réforme fiscale globale est actuellement exclue, car elle provoquerait une diminution des recettes se chiffrant en milliards. Une telle réforme comporterait la suppression totale du droit de négociation (jusqu’à 1,2 milliard de francs de diminution des recettes selon les estimations statiques) et/ou un abaissement du taux de l’impôt anticipé sur le rendement des participations (1,6 milliard de francs de diminution statique des recettes d’après l’étude de KPMG).

Les risques fiscaux d’une réforme moins étendue se concentrant sur le renforcement du marché des capitaux de tiers sont bien moins importants. L’exonération de l’impôt anticipé pour les placements portant intérêts effectués par des personnes morales sises en Suisse ou des investisseurs étrangers provoque, du point de vue statique, une diminution des recettes estimée à 130 millions de francs par an. Cette estimation comprend aussi les potentielles recettes supplémentaires résultant du renforcement de la fonction de garantie de l’impôt anticipé envers les personnes physiques domiciliées en Suisse (35 millions de francs). La diminution des recettes est assumée par la Confédération et les cantons, à raison respectivement de 90 % et de 10 %. En outre, la réforme prévoit de supprimer le droit de négociation sur les emprunts suisses. Cette mesure entraîne une diminution des recettes de l’ordre de 50 millions de francs et affecte uniquement les finances de la Confédération. En revanche, le renforcement du marché des capitaux entraîne, du point de vue dynamique, une augmentation des recettes pour la Confédération, les cantons et les communes. Au vu de ces effets dynamiques, la réforme entraînera assurément des recettes supplémentaires pour les cantons et les communes. Mais elle pourra être autofinancée également pour la Confédération après environ cinq ans. Globalement, le rapport entre les coûts et l’utilité de la réforme peut être considéré comme particulièrement favorable. 

 

Sélection d’autres développements

Une sous-commission a été instituée dans le cadre du traitement de l’initiative parlementaire 17.494, à laquelle les deux Chambres ont donné suite. Cette sous-commission est chargée d’élaborer un projet en coordonnant ses travaux avec ceux du Conseil fédéral. En juin 2019, elle a publié ses lignes directrices pour une réforme de l’impôt anticipé. Entre-temps, elle a interrompu l’élaboration de son propre projet pour soutenir celui du Conseil fédéral.

En janvier 2020, le comité consultatif «Avenir de la place financière» a soumis au Conseil fédéral une feuille de route stratégique pour la politique en matière de marchés financiers, dans laquelle il indique qu’il est essentiel de renforcer le marché suisse des capitaux sur le plan fiscal. Une refonte de l’impôt anticipé fondée sur les lignes directrices proposées par le Conseil fédéral en 2019 pourrait contribuer à rendre la Suisse nettement plus attrayante pour les opérations sur le marché de capitaux. À moyen terme, des réformes de l’impôt anticipé sur les émissions de capitaux propres et des droits de timbre pourraient encore renforcer l’attrait du marché suisse des capitaux.

La Coordination des banques domestiques (CBD) a présenté un modèle comprenant deux éléments:

  • Règlement externe: le modèle prévoit de confier le règlement du nouvel impôt anticipé à des dépositaires (par ex. Bourse suisse Swiss Exchange [SIX]), qui agiraient sur mandat des agents payeurs. La responsabilité de l’impôt anticipé incomberait toutefois toujours à l’agent payeur. La relation contractuelle qui lierait l’agent payeur et SIX relèverait du droit privé.
  • Placements directs: la CBD estime que le nouvel impôt anticipé ne devrait s’appliquer en principe qu’aux placements directs portant intérêts. De cette manière, la conception du nouvel impôt anticipé serait la plus simple possible et permettrait de réduire les risques de règlement et de responsabilité des banques. Le système en vigueur devrait être maintenu pour les placements indirects. 
 

Dernière modification 06.04.2020

Début de la page

https://www.estv.admin.ch/content/estv/fr/home/verrechnungssteuer/verrechnungssteuer.html