Anticipatory Tax

Withholding tax reform

Withholding tax and transfer stamp tax are obstacles for the Swiss capital market. At the same time, there are gaps in the current withholding tax system. This reform can alleviate both problems.      

Swiss capital market (interest-bearing investments)

Withholding tax is an obstacle for economic policy particularly in the case of interest-bearing investments (bonds). Under current law, interest-bearing investments are subject to withholding tax of 35%, which is levied irrespective of who the investor is. It applies equally to private and institutional, domestic and foreign investors.
Foreign investors are entitled to a full or partial refund of withholding tax, depending on the applicable double taxation agreement (DTA) between Switzerland and their country of residence. However, asserting this right entails an administrative burden and a temporary liquidity shortage for the investor.

As a result of withholding tax, Swiss groups generally issue their bonds abroad rather than in Switzerland, preferably in a country without withholding tax. This ensures that the securities are attractive for investors, and also means that the value added and the associated jobs are located abroad as well.

Transfer stamp tax is levied on trading in certain securities, including bonds. The tax is due if at least one of the parties involved in the trade is a Swiss securities dealer. Each securities dealer involved is subject to half the tax. The total tax amounts to 0.15% of the sales proceeds in the case of domestic bonds, and 0.3% of the sales proceeds for foreign securities.

 
 

Safeguarding purpose

Domestic investors are fully entitled to a refund of withholding tax. Withholding tax thus serves a safeguarding purpose in Switzerland. It safeguards the income and wealth tax of the Confederation, the cantons and the communes. The current system contains deficiencies in this protection. No withholding tax is levied on foreign securities, although these securities are subject to income and wealth tax in the same way as domestic securities. Bonds issued abroad by Swiss groups of companies are also considered to be foreign securities.

 
 

Tax receipts

Withholding tax contributes to the tax receipts of the Confederation and the cantons (they receive 10% of the revenue). It pursues a fiscal purpose particularly at the international level. In addition, there are cases in which a withholding tax refund is not claimed, e.g. because foreign investors entitled to a refund dread the administrative burden.

In 2019, the FTA recorded a total of CHF 38.7 billion in withholding tax receipts and reimbursed CHF 28.9 billion. Moreover, Switzerland formed provisions totalling CHF 1.5 billion. The Confederation and the cantons booked CHF 8.3 billion in tax receipts.

Transfer stamp tax receipts amounted to just under CHF 1.3 billion in 2019. Almost CHF 200 million of this was attributable to trading in domestic securities, of which a small percentage was again attributable to domestic bond turnover. 

 
 

Review

Several attempts have already been made to reform withholding tax.
Most recently, the Federal Council proposed in 2014 to exempt Swiss interest-bearing investments from withholding tax for institutional and foreign investors. As a result, Swiss groups would be able to issue their bonds in Switzerland and also locate intragroup financing activities in Switzerland. In the case of individuals resident in Switzerland, withholding tax would continue to be levied, and foreign securities would also be included. That would secure tax much more robustly in Switzerland and combat tax evasion. The reform would have had a positive economic impact. At the very least, it should have been budget-neutral for the Confederation, the cantons and the communes. Due to the controversial reactions to this proposal in the consultation, the Federal Council postponed the planned reform.

The Federal Council addressed the reform of withholding tax twice in 2019 and adopted its key parameters in that regard. It instructed the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) to prepare a consultation draft.

  • Key parameters press release (in French, German, Italian)
  • Further key parameters press release (in French, German, Italian) 
 
 

Current developments: Federal Council consultation draft

During its meeting on 1 April 2020, the Federal Council initiated the consultation on the withholding tax reform (press release). The consultation will run until 8 July 2020.

The core elements of the Federal Council consultation draft are as follows:

  • Exemption of domestic legal entities and foreign investors from withholding tax on Swiss interest income
  • Strengthening of the safeguarding purpose by including foreign interest income with withholding tax for individuals in Switzerland, thereby eliminating a significant gap and making an effective contribution to combating tax evasion in Switzerland
  • Equal treatment of direct and indirect investments, which will also strengthen Switzerland as a fund location
  • Abolition of transfer stamp tax on domestic bonds

Technically, this will be implemented by introducing withholding tax according to the paying agent principle for interest income. Under the paying agent principle, withholding tax is no longer paid by the debtor (e.g. a company that issues a bond and pays interest on it), but by the investor's paying agent (e.g. the bank where the investor holds the bond in a custody account). The new withholding tax applies if the paying agent is domiciled in Switzerland.

Compared with previous reform efforts, the Federal Council is proposing various measures to reduce the complexity and thus the settlement and liability risks:

  • The reform is limited to interest-bearing investments
  • Withholding tax on interest income is levied exclusively in the case of individuals in Switzerland
  • Banks only have to deliver it on a quarterly basis
  • Accrued interest (interest accrued but not yet paid at the time of the sale of a bond) is not subject to withholding tax
  • Companies can choose between the old and the new withholding tax
  • Paying agents are criminally liable only in the case of intent
  • Paying agents should be entitled to compensation for the implementation work involved

In advance of its decision, the Federal Council consulted two studies commissioned by the FDF and carried out by BAK Economics and KPMG:

  • BAK Economics examined the dynamic effects of abolishing stamp duty and of a comprehensive withholding tax reform, as well as a staggered scenario in which the debt-related elements would be implemented first and only later the equity-related elements.
  • KPMG focused primarily on the static financial impact of reducing the withholding tax rate on domestic participation rights.

In the Federal Council's view, the implementation of a comprehensive tax reform is currently ruled out due to the reduction in receipts totalling billions of Swiss francs. Such a reform would involve the complete abolition of transfer stamp tax (a statically estimated receipt reduction of as much as CHF 1.2 bn) and/or the lowering of the rate of withholding tax on participation income (a static receipt reduction of CHF 1.6 bn according to the KPMG study).

In contrast, the fiscal risks are substantially lower in the case of a less comprehensive reform that focuses on strengthening the debt market. Exempting domestic legal entities and foreign investors from withholding tax on interest-bearing investments would lead to a statically estimated receipt reduction of CHF 130 million per year. This estimate also includes the potential additional receipts from the strengthening of the safeguarding purpose in the case of individuals in Switzerland (CHF 35 mn). 90% of the lost receipts would concern the Confederation and 10% the cantons. Moreover, the transfer stamp tax on domestic bonds is to be abolished. This measure would lead to a reduction in receipts of an estimated CHF 50 million, which would affect only the federal budget. This stands against dynamic additional receipts for the Confederation, cantons and communes arising from the strengthening of the capital market. The reform would certainly lead to additional receipts for the cantons and communes when the dynamic effects are taken into account. But even for the Confederation, the reform could finance itself after about 5 years. All in all, this reform's cost-benefit ratio can be considered to be extremely favourable. 

 
 

Selected further developments

A sub-committee (Sub-Co) was set up within the framework of the parliamentary initiative 17.494, which was endorsed by both chambers. Its task is to draw up a proposal and coordinate its work with that of the Federal Council. The sub-committee published its key parameters for a withholding tax reform in June 2019. It has currently suspended its work on its own proposal in favour of the Federal Council's proposal.

In January 2020, the advisory board for the future of the Swiss financial centre submitted a strategic roadmap for financial market policy to the Federal Council. In this, the advisory board recommended that priority be given to an unshackling of the Swiss capital market in tax terms. By restructuring withholding tax, as proposed by the Federal Council in 2019 in its key parameters, Switzerland could become much more appealing for capital market transactions. In the medium term, moreover, the reform of withholding tax on equity issues and of transfer stamp tax could result in the attractiveness of the Swiss financial centre increasing still further.

The informal platform for domestic banks called Koordination Inlandbanken (KIB) presented its own reform concept with two components:

  • External settlement: the concept envisages settlement of the new withholding tax by the depository (e.g. SIX Swiss Exchange), which acts on behalf of the paying agents, while liability for the withholding tax remains with the paying agents. This is a contractual relationship under private law between the paying agents and SIX.
  • Indirect investments: according to KIB, the new withholding tax should in principle be introduced only for direct interest-bearing investments. This should make the new withholding tax as simple as possible and minimise the liability and settlement risks of banks. The current system should be retained for indirect investments.
 
 

Last modification 06.04.2020

Top of page

https://www.estv.admin.ch/content/estv/en/home/verrechnungssteuer/verrechnungssteuer.html

Verrechnungssteuer

Reform der Verrechnungssteuer

Die Verrechnungssteuer und die Umsatzabgabe stellen ein Hindernis für den Schweizer Kapitalmarkt dar. Gleichzeitig bestehen im geltenden System der Verrechnungssteuer Sicherungslücken. Die vorliegende Reform kann beide Probleme entschärfen.    

Kapitalmarkt Schweiz (Zinsanlagen)

Die Verrechnungssteuer stellt insbesondere bei Zinsanlagen (Obligationen) ein wirtschafts-politisches Hindernis dar. Nach geltendem Recht (PDF, 1 MB, 04.09.2020) unterliegen Zinsanlagen der Verrechnungssteuer von 35 Prozent. Die Steuer wird unabhängig von der Person des Anlegers erhoben. Sie trifft gleichermassen private wie institutionelle, in- wie ausländische Anleger.
Ausländische Anleger sind je nach anwendbarem Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen (DBA) zwischen der Schweiz und ihrem Wohnsitzstaat vollständig oder teilweise zur Rückerstattung der Verrechnungssteuer berechtigt (PDF, 933 kB, 21.02.2020). Die Geltendmachung dieses Anspruchs ist indes mit administrativem Aufwand und mit einem vorübergehenden Liquiditätsentzug für den Anleger verbunden.

Aufgrund der Verrechnungssteuer begeben Schweizer Konzerne ihre Obligationen in der Regel nicht in der Schweiz, sondern im Ausland – vorzugsweise in einem Land ohne Quellensteuer. Damit stellen sie sicher, dass die Titel für Investoren attraktiv sind. Als Folge davon sind die Wertschöpfung und die damit verbundenen Arbeitsplätze ebenfalls im Ausland angesiedelt.

Die Umsatzabgabe wird auf dem Handel mit bestimmten Wertpapieren erhoben, so auch auf dem Handel mit Obligationen. Die Abgabe fällt an, wenn mindestens eine der am Handel beteiligten Parteien ein Schweizer Effektenhändler ist. Pro beteiligten Effektenhändler wird eine halbe Abgabe fällig. Die gesamte Abgabe bei inländischen Obligationen beläuft sich auf 0,15 Prozent, bei ausländischen Titeln auf 0,3 Prozent des Verkaufserlöses. 

 

Sicherungszweck

Inländische Anlegerinnen und Anleger sind bei der Verrechnungssteuer vollständig rückerstattungsberechtigt. Im Inland verfolgt die Verrechnungssteuer damit einen Sicherungszweck. Sie sichert die Einkommens- und Vermögenssteuer von Bund, Kantonen und Gemeinden. Das geltende System (PDF, 1 MB, 04.09.2020) weist Lücken bei dieser Sicherung auf. Bei ausländischen Titeln wird keine Verrechnungssteuer erhoben, obschon diese Titel ebenso einkommens- und vermögenssteuerpflichtig sind wie inländische Titel. Als ausländische Titel gelten dabei auch die im Ausland ausgegebenen Anleihen schweizerischer Konzerne. 

 

Fiskaleinnahmen

Die Verrechnungssteuer trägt zu den Fiskaleinnahmen des Bundes und der Kantone (sie erhalten 10 Prozent der Erträge) bei. Insbesondere im internationalen Verhältnis verfolgt sie einen Fiskalzweck. Hinzu kommen Fälle, in denen die Verrechnungssteuer nicht zurückgefordert wird, beispielsweise weil rückerstattungsberechtigte ausländische Anleger den administrativen Aufwand scheuen.

Die Eidgenössische Steuerverwaltung (ESTV) verbuchte im Jahr 2019 insgesamt 38,7 Milliarden Franken Einnahmen aus der Verrechnungssteuer und erstattete 28,9 Milliarden Franken zurück. Zudem bildete die Schweiz neue Rückstellungen in der Höhe von 1,5 Milliarden Franken. 8,3 Milliarden Franken blieben als Fiskaleinnahmen beim Bund und den Kantonen.

Die Einnahmen aus der Umsatzabgabe betrugen im Jahr 2019 knapp 1,3 Milliarden Fran-ken. Davon entfielen knapp 200 Millionen Franken auf den Handel mit inländischen Wertpapieren, wovon wieder ein kleiner Prozentsatz auf Umsätze mit inländischen Anleihen entfiel. 

 

Rückblick

Für eine Reform der Verrechnungssteuer wurden bereits mehrere Versuche unternommen.
Letztmals schlug der Bundesrat 2014 vor, Schweizer Zinsanlagen für institutionelle und ausländische Anleger von der Verrechnungssteuer zu befreien. Damit wird es Schweizer Konzernen ermöglicht, ihre Anleihen aus der Schweiz heraus zu begeben und auch konzerninterne Finanzierungsaktivitäten in der Schweiz anzusiedeln. Bei Privatpersonen mit Wohnsitz in der Schweiz soll die Verrechnungssteuer weiterhin erhoben werden, neu auch auf ausländischen Titeln. Damit wird die Steuersicherung im Inland wesentlich gestärkt und die Steuerhinterziehung bekämpft. Die Reform hätte positive volkswirtschaftliche Effekte. Sie dürfte für Bund, Kantone und Gemeinden zumindest haushaltsneutral sein. Dieser Vorschlag stiess in der Vernehmlassung auf kontroverse Reaktionen, so dass der Bundesrat die geplante Reform vertagte.

Der Bundesrat hat sich 2019 zwei Mal mit der Reform der Verrechnungssteuer beschäftigt und seine Eckwerte dazu verabschiedet. Er hat das Eidgenössische Finanzdepartement (EFD) mit der Ausarbeitung einer Vernehmlassungsvorlage beauftragt. 

 

Aktuelle Entwicklungen: Vernehmlassungsvorlage des Bundesrates

Der Bundesrat hat an seiner Sitzung vom 1. April 2020 die Vernehmlassung zur Reform der Verrechnungssteuer eröffnet. Die Vernehmlassung dauert bis am 8. Juli 2020.

Die Vernehmlassungsvorlage des Bundesrates beinhaltet folgende Kernelemente:

  • Befreiung inländischer juristischer Personen und ausländischer Anlegerinnen und Anleger von der Verrechnungssteuer auf Schweizer Zinserträgen.
  • Stärkung des Sicherungszwecks dank der Erfassung ausländischer Zinserträge mit der Verrechnungssteuer für natürliche Personen im Inland. Auf diese Weise wird eine wesentliche Sicherungslücke geschlossen und ein wirksamer Beitrag zur Bekämpfung der Steuerhinterziehung im Inland geleistet.
  • Gleichbehandlung von direkter und indirekter Anlage. Damit wird auch der Fondsstandort Schweiz gestärkt.
  • Aufhebung der Umsatzabgabe auf inländischen Obligationen.

Technisch wird dies mit der Einführung der Verrechnungssteuer nach Zahlstellenprinzip auf Zinserträgen umgesetzt. Beim Zahlstellenprinzip wird die Verrechnungssteuer nicht mehr vom Schuldner (z.B. ein Unternehmen, das eine Obligation ausgibt und darauf Zinsen entrichtet) abgeführt, sondern von der Zahlstelle der Anlegerin oder des Anlegers (z.B. die Bank, bei der die Anlegerin oder der Anleger die Obligation in einem Depot hält). Die neue Verrechnungssteuer greift, wenn die Zahlstelle ihren Sitz in der Schweiz hat. 

Im Vergleich zu bisherigen Reformbestrebungen schlägt der Bundesrat diverse Massnahmen zur Verminderung der Komplexität und damit der Abwicklungs- und Haftungsrisiken vor:

  • Die Reform ist auf Zinsanlagen beschränkt.
  • Die Verrechnungssteuer auf Zinserträgen wird ausschliesslich gegenüber inländischen natürlichen Personen erhoben.
  • Sie muss von den Banken lediglich quartalsweise abgeliefert werden.
  • Marchzinsen (im Zeitpunkt der Veräusserung einer Anleihe aufgelaufene, aber noch nicht ausbezahlte Zinsen) werden nicht der Verrechnungssteuer unterstellt.
  • Die Unternehmen können zwischen der alten und der neuen Verrechnungssteuer wählen.
  • Die Zahlstellen sind nur bei Vorsatz strafrechtlich haftbar.
  • Den Zahlstellen soll eine Entschädigung für den Implementierungsaufwand zustehen.

Der Bundesrat hat sich im Vorfeld seiner Entscheidung über zwei Studien von BAK Economics und KPMG informieren lassen, die das EFD in Auftrag gegeben hatte:

Die Umsetzung einer umfassenden Steuerreform ist aus Sicht des Bundesrates aufgrund der Mindereinnahmen in Milliardenhöhe derzeit ausgeschlossen. Eine solche Reform würde die vollständige Abschaffung der Umsatzabgabe (bis zu 1,2 Milliarden Franken statisch geschätzte Mindereinnahmen) und/oder eine Senkung des Steuersatzes auf Beteiligungserträgen bei der Verrechnungssteuer (1,6 Milliarden Franken statische Mindereinnahmen gemäss Studie KPMG) beinhalten.

Bei einer weniger umfassenden Reform, die sich auf die Stärkung des Fremdkapitalmarkts konzentriert, sind die fiskalischen Risiken dagegen massiv geringer. Die Befreiung inländischer juristischer Personen und ausländischer Anleger von der Verrechnungssteuer auf Zinsanlagen führt zu statisch geschätzten Mindereinnahmen von geschätzten 130 Millionen Franken pro Jahr. In dieser Schätzung enthalten sind auch die potenziellen Mehreinnahmen aus der Stärkung des Sicherungszwecks bei inländischen natürlichen Personen (in Höhe von 35 Millionen Franken). Die Mindereinnahmen fallen zu 90 Prozent beim Bund und zu 10 Prozent bei den Kantonen an. Ferner soll die Umsatzabgabe auf inländischen Anleihen aufgehoben werden. Diese Massnahme führt zu Mindereinnahmen von geschätzten 50 Millionen Franken und belastet alleine den Haushalt des Bundes. Demgegenüber stehen dynamische Mehreinnahmen für Bund, Kantone und Gemeinden aus der Stärkung des Kapitalmarkts. Für die Kantone und Gemeinden führt die Reform unter Berücksichtigung der dynamischen Effekte sicher zu Mehreinnahmen. Aber auch beim Bund könnte die Reform nach etwa fünf Jahren selbstfinanzierend sein. Insgesamt ist das Kosten-Nutzen-Verhältnis dieser Reform als äusserst vorteilhaft zu bewerten. 

 

Ausgewählte weitere Entwicklungen

Im Rahmen der von beiden Räten Folge gegebenen parlamentarischen Initiative 17.494 wurde eine Subkommission (SubKo) eingesetzt. Sie hat den Auftrag eine Vorlage auszuarbeiten und ihre Arbeiten mit jenen des Bundesrates zu koordinieren. Die SubKo hat im Juni 2019 ihre Eckwerte zu einer Reform der Verrechnungssteuer veröffentlicht. Die SubKo hat ihre Arbeiten an einer eigenen Vorlage derzeit zu Gunsten der bundesrätlichen Vorlage ausgesetzt.

Im Januar 2020 hat der Beirat Zukunft Finanzplatz dem Bundesrat eine strategische Roadmap für die Finanzmarktpolitik unterbreitet. Der Beirat empfiehlt darin prioritär eine steuerliche Entfesselung des Schweizer Kapitalmarkts. Mit einem Umbau der Verrechnungssteuer, wie vom Bundesrat 2019 in seinen Eckwerten vorgeschlagen, könnte die Schweiz für Kapitalmarktgeschäfte deutlich attraktiver werden. Mittelfristig liessen sich über Reformen der Verrechnungssteuer für Eigenkapitalemissionen und der Stempelabgaben zudem die Attraktivität des Schweizer Kapitalmarkts noch deutlich weiter steigern.

Die Kooperation der Inlandbanken (KIB) hat ein eigenes Reformkonzept mit zwei Elementen vorgelegt:

  • Externe Abwicklung: Das Konzept sieht vor, dass die neue Verrechnungssteuer durch die sog. Verwahrstelle (beispielsweise Schweizerische Börse SIX Exchange) abgewickelt wird. Diese agiert im Auftrag der Zahlstellen, wobei die Haftung für die Verrechnungssteuer unverändert bei Letzteren verbleibt. Es handelt sich um ein privatrechtliches Vertragsverhältnis zwischen der Zahlstelle und der SIX.
  • Indirekte Anlagen: Gemäss KIB soll die neue Verrechnungssteuer grundsätzlich nur für direkte Zinsanlagen eingeführt werden. Damit soll die neue Verrechnungssteuer so einfach wie möglich ausgestaltet werden und die Haftungs- und Abwicklungsrisiken der Banken minimiert werden. Für indirekte Anlagen soll das geltende System beibehalten werden. 
 

Letzte Änderung 03.04.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.estv.admin.ch/content/estv/de/home/verrechnungssteuer/verrechnungssteuer.html